casblogging.blogg.se

Keepassx
Keepassx





The same reason you trust your wallet or purse with your personal identity. You would do it for the same reason you trust a bank’s security with your money. Why would I put all my passwords in one file? Something just sounds wrong with that statement.

keepassx

Instead, you’re only going to find out once the damage has been done. Don’t expect someone to advertise themselves once they’ve gained access to something we had protected. But these people don’t want to make that evident to us. Well the scary thing is: some of them might know our password(s) already. We belive that if no one has figured out our password yet, they never will. Most of us just acknowledge there is risk, but we do nothing about it. Even the complicated ones we confidently memorized are no good. The passwords we’ve all used up to this date are too simple I know this because we’ve all remembered/memorized them. The thing is, the internet is filled with people whose sole intent is to gain access to your identity and exploit it for their own personal gain. So trust me when I tell you that you need one now. The ideology is the same: “You didn’t know you needed it until it was shown to you”. What’s the point of a password manager? I never needed one before!Ī password manager is kind of like social media was to us back in February of 2004. I’ll attempt to do this with respect to The 5 Stages of Loss and Grief. Give me a chance to sell you the reasons why you seriously need to consider this. KeePassX InterfaceNow before you roll your eyes and decide you don’t need such a thing, just here me out. Not only that, but it’ll easily generate you these passwords too. Again, I emphasis that the password manager does all the memorizing for you. Instead of using your birthday, engagement and/or pets name, you’ll use passwords like: JP83bW93wwrJsZ2圆tQ圓aD6W or SLJUhoQWPBRtwTwmzsCxWXqOV. It’s used to prevent you from using the same 1-3 passwords you’re using today for everything.

keepassx

It’s sole purpose in life is to remember passwords for you so you don’t have to. But for starters KeePassX is completely free ( GPLv2) and as I mentioned above, it works on just about every platform!

keepassx

There are a number of reasons why and I’ll eventually get to most of them. There are a lot of them out there, but I’m specifically interested in focusing the attention on KeePassX. I want to encourage the use of a password manager to anyone not already using one. I usually blog specifically for Linux users, but this really applies to anyone on any operating system (Apple, Microsoft, Android, etc). I haven’t posted in a while and I figured I was due.







Keepassx